Karmic Pizza

I am a firm believer in the universe. I like to think it’s looking out for me, and that my karmic tally leaves me in a pretty good position to lead a pretty good life. I try to listen for signs and cues to confirm whether I’ve chosen a correct path in life. Yes, super hippie.

So two days ago as I was speeding along the highway in my trusty old Subaru, and smoke all of a sudden started coming out of the hood, I wasn’t super worried. I was traveling from Prince George to Vancouver…a homecoming. You’d better believe I’d consulted the universe a lot about this decision. I was leaving behind a very respectable career for the unknown. I was looking back at the experience as a gift, one that the universe had opened up for me, and one that had truly been a dream come true, and an amazing learning and character building adventure.

As I pulled to the side of the road, I couldn’t see any reason why the universe would want to delay the start of my new life. Within seconds of pulling over, a very helpful old man named Richard stopped, popped the hood, and immediately got on the phone calling all his connections in Williams Lake. Minutes later, one of his friends pulled up, both of them poking and prodding the inner workings of my car. So far, so good.

Still unshaken at this point.

A half an hour later, I found myself sitting in front of the Williams Lake Public Library with a couple bags, and my bicycle, crying, feeling totally wronged.

This is the flaw in the belief in the universe system: sometimes bad things just happen.

My car was locked away in the shop until the part arrived, likely Tuesday. My scrimping and saving of money was about to take a serious blow, for repairs and living expenses in a town I began to hate.

But the cosmos was getting ready to give me a (very) slight boost in the form of friendship, and pizza.

After one night in the Williams Lake Sandman (where I woke up with pink eye), my wonderful friend Gordon from PG drove three hours to come pick me up, and take me back to the city I had thought I would never see again.

Being very much a food-minded person, I decided making something fun to eat would further my salvation from misery. A friend on facebook had posted a recipe the previous week that led me to discover Detoxinista.

Detoxinista is, in my opinion, a kindred spirit and modern-day super hippie. Because of my culinary flower child leanings, and my 74930 allergies, I quickly developed a food crush.

On to the point of this post…

I made pizza with a secret-ingredient crust.

This has been one of my favorite things of late. Cooking something traditional with a non-traditional ingredient, serving it to people, and having them guess what the unexpected addition is. Black bean brownies are very good (especially frozen), and I made a coconut white bean bundt cake for my birthday, which got great reviews.

Toddler-approved bean cake.

I can’t keep a secret, and I told Gordon the secret ingredient because I was excited about it. He is always a very willing guinea pig for my kitchen experiments, so the idea of a cauliflower crust didn’t scare him off.

Yes, cauliflower.

The result: a gluten-free, dairy-free pizza. Of course you’re not going to get something super close to the original, but it was definitely super yummy. After eating, Gordon and I kind of just looked at each other  in a food coma and said ‘Yum…’

The most important things to prepare yourself for is a super creamy crust, as it’s partially bound together with goat cheese.

I definitely recommend this recipe, for some healthy, happy, hippie and of course, allergy-sensitive comfort food. Or just something new.

Check out the recipe for Cauliflower Pizza Crust.

One modification, I used Daiya Mozzarella-style shreds in place of Detoxinista’s goat cheese mozza.

For toppings, I used baked garlic and mushrooms.

YUM

Happy experimental eating, from the universe, to me, to you!

One thought on “Karmic Pizza

  1. Nicely done on the pizza!! I would definitely try that. Bean bundt cake sounds a bit like a clash of two worlds, but toddler approved says a lot!

    So what is this making you think about leaving PG? Is the universe stopping you or is it just mechanical hijinx? Write more!!!

Leave a Reply

